Leave a Light on- Research

Too began my journey into creating this short drama based on the song Leave a Light on, I had to think of the things that I was going to need to accomplish this. To create a drama a huge part of it is research, whether that is primary or secondary. The first thing I want to look at it the bases around the song and why did the artist create it in the first place.

Tom Walker was born in Glasgow but grew up in Manchester, the song seems to represent a story of him losing a friend and how he will always be there for him.  After reading an article it turns out that he had lost family members at the time so they were both in a really bad place at the time. Now knowing a little more about the back story I can have a look at the different stories and groups that are to do with drug abuse and see how they help people, see if I can see are talk to people that have gone through real-life stories and maybe that is what my drama can be based on.

I have had a look at a lot of different places types media, including Newsstand, Social Media and googling many different blogs about the cause. However, I did start on Facebook where I found many different groups connected to drug abuse, so I started emailing them and even rang people despite having phone fear. I am still waiting for the people through email to reply. I did, however, ring a couple of different groups and people, after getting a few rejections and a lot of people not answering there was one group that told me that they were there to help parents that deal with their children being addicted to drugs/alcohol. So it is similar to a support group where mums that have dealt with their children being addicted to drugs, alcohol ext. come together and talk to others that have experienced the same. They were not able to release any personal information but they gave to some information that made me think that I want to base my short drama on something to do with children being addicted to drugs and give off the message that family is always there for you like Tom Walker was there for his friend.

References

→, V. (2018). Tom Walker releases Leave A Light On | IndieCentralMusic. [online] IndieCentralMusic. Available at: http://indiecentralmusic.com/2017/10/23/tom-walker-releases-leave-a-light-on/ [Accessed 16 Feb. 2018].

Mtv.co.uk. (2018). Tom Walker Talks The Emotional Inspiration Behind ‘Leave A Light On’ | MTV UK. [online] Available at: http://www.mtv.co.uk/brand-new-for-2018/news/tom-walker-talks-the-emotional-inspiration-behind-leave-a-light-on [Accessed 16 Feb. 2018].

 

 

Leave a comment